Commonwealth Shared Scholarship in the UK 2024 | Fully Funded

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship

The Commonwealth Shared Scholarship (CSS) for the academic year 2024/25 is now open for applications, providing a fully funded opportunity for eligible individuals to pursue one of three master’s programs: MA, MSc, and MLitt. 

This fully funded scholarship, jointly funded by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC) and participating UK universities, covers various aspects of the study journey.

The impact of Commonwealth Scholarships has been profound, with over 30,000 individuals benefiting from this program since its inception in 1960. 

Initially welcoming 175 Scholars in its first cohort, the Commonwealth Scholarship scheme has continually evolved over the past six decades.

Scholarship Specifications

  • Country: United Kingdom.
  • Host Universities: Approved UK Universities.
  • Scholarship Coverage: Fully Funded.
  • Degree Level: Master’s.
  • Standardized Test Status: No IELTS required.
  • Duration: 12 Months.
  • Study Commences: September 2024.
  • Application Deadline: Thursday 14 December 2023.

Also, you may enroll in a Free IELTS Preparation Course for an IELTS Exam.

Approved Courses and Universities for Commonwealth Shared Scholarships Fully Funded Master’s Programs

The following are the participating UK universities with eligible programs: 

  1. Brunel University London: LLM International Human Rights Law.
  2. Durham University: MSc Mathematics.
  3. Goldsmiths, University of London: MA Investigative Journalism (Course No Longer Running), MA World Theatres.
  4. Liverpool Hope University: MA Disability Studies.
  5. London School of Economics and Political Science: MSc Gender, Development, and Globalisation.
  6. Oxford Brookes University: MA Education – SEND.
  7. Queens University Belfast: MSc City Planning and Design.
  8. Royal Holloway, University of London: MSc Gender Studies.
  9. Sheffield Hallam University: MA Jewellery and Metalwork.
  10. University College London: MA Education, Gender, and International Development, MA Education and International Development, MSc Social Development Practice.
  11. University of Aberdeen: MLitt Museum Studies.
  12. University of Bristol: MSc Education (Policy and International Development).
  13. University of Cambridge: MPhil Education (Education, Globalisation, and International Development).
  14. University of Glasgow: MSc Reparatory Justice.
  15. University of Sussex: MA Gender and Development, MA Power, Participation, and Social Change.
  16. University of Warwick: MA Applied Theatre – Arts, Action, Change, MA Gender and International Development.

Also, the Fully Funded Politecnico Di Milano Scholarships 2024-2025 in Italy are currently open.

Join Us Via Any Of Our Social Media Platforms:

Scholarship Benefits

The Commonwealth Shared Scholarship offers comprehensive coverage, including:

  • Airfare from home country to the UK and return.
  • Full tuition fee coverage.
  • Stipend (living allowance) at the rate of £1,347 per month, or £1,652 per month for those studying in the London metropolitan area.
  • Warm clothing allowance.
  • Thesis grant
  • Study travel grant 
  • Study-related travel grant within the UK or overseas.
  • If a scholar is widowed, divorced, or a single parent with children, they are eligible for a child allowance. The allowance is as follows:
    • £576.61 per month for the first child
    • £143 per month for the second child
    • £143 per month for the third child

Also, check out Fully Funded Turkey Government Scholarships 2024.

Approved Countries

Applicants must be citizens or hold refugee status in the following approved Commonwealth countries:

  • Bangladesh
  • Belize
  • Botswana
  • Cameroon
  • Dominica
  • Eswatini
  • Fiji
  • Gabon
  • Ghana
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • India
  • Jamaica
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mauritius
  • Montserrat
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Rwanda
  • Saint Helena
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and The Grenadines
  • Samoa
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • Tanzania
  • The Gambia
  • Togo
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Vanuatu
  • Zambia

Supporting Documents

All required documents must be submitted online, including:

  • Proof of citizenship or refugee status in an eligible Commonwealth country.
  • Valid passport (or national ID card) showing a photograph, date of birth, and country of citizenship.
  • Full transcripts detailing all higher education qualifications.

Applicants Eligibility Requirements

To be eligible for the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship, applicants must:

  • Be a citizen or hold refugee status in one of the eligible Commonwealth countries.
  • Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country.
  • Hold an undergraduate degree of at least upper second-class (2:1) honors standard or a lower second-class(2:2) degree with a relevant postgraduate qualification by September 2024.
  • Be available to commence academic study in the UK in September 2024.
  • Have not studied or worked for more than one academic year in a high-income country.
  • Demonstrate financial need: unable to afford to study in the UK without financial assistance.

Also, you may be eligible to apply for Fully Funded Maastricht University Scholarship 2024-2025.

Application Process

Interested candidates must apply through the online application system. The Commonwealth Shared Scholarship application involves providing comprehensive information across various sections. 

Educational Qualifications:

  • List all undergraduate and postgraduate university qualifications obtained.

Publications and Prizes:

  • List up to 10 publications and prizes.

Employment History:

  • Provide details of employment history.
  • Explain how the experience gained supports and is relevant to the program.


  • List the names and positions of three referees.
  • Referees should comment on the capacity to benefit from the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship and the ability to deliver development afterward.
  • One referee must be a current employer (if applicable).

Development Impact Statement (Four Parts):

1. Relating to the Proposed Scholarship:

  • Explain how the proposed scholarship relates to global, national, and local development issues.
  • Connect the chosen CSC development theme and the wider sector.

2. Post-Scholarship Application of New Skills:

  • Applicant should provide how they intend to apply their new skills once the scholarship ends.

3. Expected Changes Following the Scholarship:

  • Outline anticipated changes in development terms, including outcomes, implementation timeframe, and beneficiaries.

4. Measuring and Evidencing Impact:

  • Detail how the impact of their work could be best measured and evidenced.

Award Objectives and Career Plans:

  • Confirm award objectives.
  • Confirm career plans for the five years following the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship.
  • Provide details about long-term career plans.

Detailed Plan of Study:

  • Outline a detailed study plan.

Personal Statement:

  • Personal statement should summarize how their background has inspired them to make an impact in their home country.
  • Highlight any significant contributions (such as overcoming personal or community barriers in accessing higher education or within their field.)

Voluntary Activities and Leadership:

  • Summarize engagement in voluntary activities.
  • Highlight opportunities to demonstrate leadership.

2 thoughts on “Commonwealth Shared Scholarship in the UK 2024 | Fully Funded

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *